Habitat Care Program 2 won the “Best Paper Award” in the 2019 UP REPSS Conference

For. Emer C. Gestiada, University Researcher I (URI) of the Makiling Center for Mountain Ecosystems (MCME) won the 1st Place Best Paper Award in the 6th Annual Scientific Conference and 10th General Assembly Meeting for the paper entitled TREE VEGETATION ANALYSIS in Tigbi Watershed 2-Ha Long Term Ecological Research Plot, Mount Makiling Forest Reserve.”  

A total of 133 Research and Extension Professional Staff (REPS) from various UPLB institutions attended the conference held at Lima Park Hotel, Malvar, Batangas on March 13-14, 2019. This year’s UP REPSS Conference theme is “Advancing Research, Extension and Development: UP REPS Commitment Towards Excellence,” focused on Biotechnology, Crop Management and Resources Management and Policy. The conference received a total of 54 entries, seven (7) competing entries for best technical papers, 12 non-competing paper presentations and 35 entries for poster presentations.

Aside from MCME, the Forest Development Center (FDC) of the College of Forestry and Natural Resources (CFNR) also won the 3rd Place Best Paper Award presented by Dr. Leonida Bugayong.

Highlighted in the paper presented by For. Gestiada was the importance of Diplodiscus paniculatus, being the most dominant and important tree species in Tigbi Watershed and its contribution to the high species diversity index. She recalled that from a climax tropical rainforest previously dominated by pristine, premium Dipterocarps, the MMFR is now dominated by its associated Diplodiscus paniculatus. The ecological range of D. paniculatus from Molawin-Dampalit Watershed (known as the Balobo Forest Zone) up to Tigbi Watershed could also indicate the previous ecological range of Dipterocarp Forest.

The paper was an output of the HABITAT Care Program 2 implemented by MCME headed by Dr. Nathaniel C. Bantayan, former Director of MCME together with the program team namely: Dr. Manuel L. Castillo, For. Rolly V. Breva, For. Leilani A. Castillo, For. Leonardo D. Barua, For. Myranel S. Canceran, For. Aldin C. Alegre, For. Karla Jane P. Gonzalvo and yours truly.


Photos credit to: PVeluz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *